Subgroups and Phenotypes of Myasthenia Gravis


Dr Neelam Goyal describes types of myasthenia gravis, its presentation, and differential diagnosis of myasthenia gravis.

This is a video synopsis of a discussion involving Neelam Goyal, MD, who delves into the clinical presentation and classification of myasthenia gravis (MG). Dr. Goyal outlines various ways to categorize MG patients, emphasizing the importance of understanding the disease's pathophysiology.

Patients with MG can be classified based on phenotype and antibody detection. Approximately 85% of MG cases exhibit detectable antibodies. Age of onset is another criterion for subgrouping, with MG typically manifesting between ages 30 to 50. Notably, a predilection for females is observed when onset occurs at age 30, while at age 50, there is a higher incidence among men. MG can develop at any age, warranting specific classifications such as juvenile onset MG for those younger than 18, late onset for those over 50, and very late onset for those after 65.

Dr. Goyal underscores the fatigable nature of MG, where symptoms, including ocular manifestations like double vision and ptosis, worsen towards the end of the day. Key features indicating a potential MG diagnosis include the combination of ocular symptoms, pure motor involvement, and a history of fatigability.

This comprehensive overview by Dr. Goyal provides clinicians with valuable insights into the diverse clinical presentations of MG, aiding in more accurate and timely diagnoses, and highlighting the need for tailored approaches in managing this complex autoimmune disorder.

Video synopsis is AI-generated and reviewed by NeurologyLive® editorial staff.

Related Videos
Video 2 - 5 KOLs are featured in "Natural History of Spinal Muscular Atrophy"
Video 1 - 5 KOLs are featured in "Clinical Features and Phenotypes of Spinal Muscular Atrophy"
Monica Verduzco-Gutierrez, MD
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.