Inaugural Class of Giants of Multiple Sclerosis Announced


The 1st annual awards ceremony was held during the CMSC Annual Meeting in National Harbor, Maryland.

Giants of Multiple Sclerosis

NeurologyLive®, in partnership with the Consortium of Multiple Sclerosis Centers (CMSC), is thrilled to announce the inaugural class of inductees for the Giants of Multiple Sclerosis™ recognition program.

The Giants of Multiple Sclerosis™ recognition program is a premier neuroscience award that recognizes and celebrates the pioneers, innovators, and difference makers who have achieved landmark successes and have significantly contributed to the betterment of care for people with multiple sclerosis.

Staying true to the mission of CMSC by helping foster a team-based approach to care, the peer-nominated and peer-voted program recognizes health care professionals across the breadth of multiple sclerosis, including neurologists, researchers, nurses, rehabilitation specialists, mental health providers, pharmacists, and more.

The 2022 call for nominations received more than 100 submissions from the greater multiple sclerosis community. Nominations were then vetted and voted upon by an esteemed steering committee made up of leaders in the MS clinical care space: Committee Chair Scott Newsome, DO,​ MSCS, FAAN, FANA; and committee members Nora Fritz, PhD, PT, DPT, NCS​; Bryan Walker, MHS, PA-C​; Amy Perrin Ross,​ APN, MSN, CNRN, MSCN; Patricia Bobryk, MHS,​ PT, MSCS, ATP; Jacquelyn L. Bainbridge, BSPharm, PharmD,​ FCCP, MSCS, FAES​; Terry Lee-Wilk, PhD​; and Flavia Nelson, MD.

Ultimately, the 2022 Giants of Multiple Sclerosis™ class included honorees in 9 categories: Neurology, Neuroimaging, Research, Patient Care, Nursing, Rehabilitation, Pharmacy, Global Impact, and Mental Health. Honorees were announced during an awards ceremony on June 2, 2022 at the Gaylord National Hotel and Conference Center in National Harbor, MD, during the 2022 CMSC Annual Meeting, which took place from June 1-4, 2022.

The 2022 honorees by award category are as follows:

  • Global Impact: Victor M. Rivera, MD, FAAN - Baylor College of Medicine
  • Mental Health: Frederick W. Foley, PhD - Yeshiva University/Holy Name Medical Center
  • Neuroimaging: David Li, MD, FRCPC - University of British Columbia
  • Neurology: T. Jock Murray, OC, ONS, MD, FAAN, MACP, FACPC, FRCP, FCAHS - Dalhousie University MS Research Unit
  • Nursing: Valerie Stickel-Diehl, RN, MS, MSCN - Ruan Neurology at MercyOne Hospital
  • Patient Care: Ellen S. Lathi, MD - The Elliot Lewis Center for Multiple Sclerosis Care
  • Pharmacy: Nancy Ross, PharmD, BCACP, MSCS, CSP - The Multiple Sclerosis Center of Atlanta
  • Research: Peter A. Calabresi, MD - Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  • Rehabilitation: Kathleen Brandfass, MS, PT - UPMC/Centers for Rehab Services

In addition, NeurologyLive® and the Giants of Multiple Sclerosis™ steering committee recognized 2 individuals with special awards for their unique contributions to the field of multiple sclerosis:

  1. The Giants of Multiple Sclerosis™ Legacy Award: The late Susan E. Bennett, PT, DPT, EdD, NCS, MSCS - Bennett Rehabilitation Institute/University at Buffalo/D’Youville University; accepted by Lacey E. Bromley, PT, DPT, PhD, NCS, on behalf of Dr. Bennett
  2. The Giants of Multiple Sclerosis™ Visionary Award: June Halper, MSN, APN-C, MSCN, FAAN - The Consortium of Multiple Sclerosis Centers

Nominations for the 2023 class of Giants of Multiple Sclerosis™ will open in Summer 2022. More information can be found on here.

On behalf of NeurologyLive®, MJH Life Sciences®, and CMSC, congratulations to the honorees on this monumental achievement!

2022 Class of Giants of Multiple Sclerosis

2022 inductees of the Giants of Mutliple Sclerosis recognition program.

Related Videos
Merit Cudkowicz, MD, MSc
Jessica Ailani, MD
Frederic Schaper, MD, PhD
Jaime Imitol, MD
Jason M. Davies, MD, PhD
Carolyn Bernstein, MD
Prashanth Rajarajan, MD, PhD
Riley Bove, MD
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.